Loch Etchachan, summer 2009. Central Cairngorms, Scotland. By the time I reached the inflow you see centre left, I was soooooo thirsty, having run out of water down in Glen Derry [I was being picky about my water source], I ended up sitting here for ages taking it all in and rehydrating on ice cold water πŸ™‚

I’ve been working on cheap methods so far of cutting my base weight; making my own stove, leaving stuff at home, etc. But there comes a point where money has to be spent, unless you want to make your own Tarp/Pack/etc, which I don’t fancy…

So, turning my attention to Spring/Summer, here’s a loose plan [subject to change and dependent on funding]:

Step 1. Tarptent Contrail – 802g saved vs Akto
Step 2. Gossamer Gear Miniposa – 666g saved vs Osprey Talon 44
??? Step 3. Jack’s ‘R Better Shenandoah Quilt – 410g saved vs MontBell Down Hugger ???
Step 4. Go on enough trips to justify the outlay πŸ™‚

Note: Prices not published as Margaret has been reading of late… πŸ˜‰

I reckon this kit will complement my existing gear, which will be retained for winter use, or when the conditions demand it. But a pack base weight [currently 6.5 kg, excludes food and photo gear] of 4.7 kg is within reach for the summer months, not bad considering my records show it was 10.7 kg last summer! I’ve even decided to leave my tripod at home and see how I get on with a Gorillapod SLR Zoom coupled with my existing Giottos ball head.