I really need to start taking better care of my tripod, for the second time in as many months, I’ve broken a leg. It looks like my decision to replace my last tripod with the same model in order to have some spare parts was a good one, I’ll swap out the broken leg once I can be bothered digging the ladder out of the shed to get into the loft.

I was walking down a steep country road, which I assume has not seen any grit or snow plough since the snow began a month ago. Today’s fresh snowfall masked the thick sheet ice, my legs went sideways from under me and I was lying on my back, on top of the tripod which I’d been carrying, with the wind knocked out of me. Thankfully the camera/lens were ok. Time to get some microspikes I think, I wonder if anywhere actually has them in stock…

