Sun Spots. 30 Sept 2011. 1203hrs

200mm | ISO 50 | f/13 | 1/8000sec | 10 stop ND filter

It’s getting to that time of year again when the nights are drawing in and the astronomy bug has been reignited. Last night, during a lull in our 0000-0500 Production deployment, I nipped out to have a look at Orion which I hadn’t seen in it’s entirety since last winter. Betelgeuse and Aldebaran [in Taurus] were distinctly orange though binoculars.

It occurred to me this morning, under an unseasonably warm sun, that I have all the tools required to try grabbing a shot of sun spot 1302, which drove an increase auroral activity earlier this week. Of course, not that we actually managed to see any auroral activity in our particular corner of Scotland, omnipresent cloud cover put paid to that idea. Still AuroraWatch gave timely alerts for those of you who are interested in seeing it for yourself.

All this has me thinking about an AstroTrac. Will I be able to resist? Margaret’s midweek attempts to image Jupiter and the Galilean satellites were [unsurprisingly] unsuccessful, given her scope is not motorised. Maybe I’ll buy her [ahem] an Astrotrac for xmas… 😉