As some of you may know [who follow my Twitter feed], I applied for a position with British Antarctic Survey in early March. The role of Winter Communications Manager sounded like the the most exciting and alien thing I could imagine. To my surprise, I was invited for an interview in Cambridge at the end of March [Cambridge is lovely BTW!]. Sadly, I got news today that I didn’t get the job [not entirely unanticipated, as I would have expected a phone call before now!]. But I find myself simultaneously disappointed and relieved. The position was a 22 month contract, 18 of which would be spent in Antarctica, [clearly the chance of a lifetime] but that would be 18 months away from family and friends, I’m kind of glad that someone else took the decision for me, but also disappointed that I wasn’t successful, seeing Antarctica would be an immense privilege.

I’m not despondent, I may apply again if a suitable position arises in future. The interview went reasonably well I thought from a technical standpoint. I had done a bit of research prior to going for the interview and had decided to answer honestly rather than tell the interview panel what [I thought] they wanted to hear, particularly regarding the HR/touchy-feely/social aspects that the role would require. I thought this would be the best policy for both parties.

Of course, I didn’t leave the interview thinking I had answered as well as I could have. I was somewhat surprised to be asked almost the same questions as I had on my application. Maybe my downfall was not repeating verbatim the responses I initially provided. Anyway, on the upside, I no longer have to spend 18 months away from loved ones and I’ll also be able to see Prometheus and The Dark Knight Rises at the IMAX! 🙂

My quest for escape from providing ‘IT solutions’ to the financial sector continues, to this end, a lottery ticket has been purchased for this weekend. Fingers crossed!

P.S. If nothing else, I left BAS Cambridge with a lovely map of the Antarctic peninsula, a section of which can be seen above.