_MG_1196

Just a quick post to let you all know how excited I am with my latest purchase. Skis! *Looks out of window to see if it’s snowing yet*
I’ve been saying for at least the last three winters that I wanted some skis, and finally, finally, following recent frustrations about lack of snow for snowshoeing, I caved in and ordered some. *checks window*

_MG_1179

I haven’t skied for at least ten years and never with a free-heel binding, so I should be in line for frustrating times ahead. Maybe it’s time for a refresher at Fir Park. These days, I’m more interested in self powered touring than Pomas or T-bars, so went for some relatively long/skinny Fischer E99 backcountry skis with Rottefella Magnum BC bindings. The skis have a full metal edge, which may prove useful in Scotland and are waxless, which should hopefully reduce faff to a minimum.

_MG_1192

Boots are Madshus Glitterind and poles are BD Traverse, as endorsed by Hendrik and Joe respectively. First impression of both is very favourable.
Thank you for the guidance gents.
*No snow yet*

_MG_1202

Squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

_MG_1213